PokerStars Wins EGR Awards’ “Poker Operator of the Year” Sixth Time in Ten Years

pokerstars wins 2023 egr award

4 minutes

Last Updated: December 8, 2023

This year’s prestigious EGR Awards ceremony took place at London’s Grosvenor House, as many of the world’s most influential individuals and organizations from the iGaming industry gathered together on October 26.

Among a number of other awards, the one for “Best Poker Operator” went to PokerStars, whose excellence in the world of online poker has now been honored with the award six times in just a decade.

PokerStars went up against the likes of GGPoker, Kindred Group, and Novibet, but came out victorious thanks to a continuing effort to serve its customers the best possible product.

The operator was one of the many to receive awards on the night, with plenty of other categories including Operator of the Year, Casino Operator, Sports Betting Operator, and Employer of the Year all honoring the best companies in the industry.

PokerStars Remains an Industry Leader

Despite facing serious competition from the likes of GGPoker in recent years, PokerStars has remained at the very top of the industry for over two decades, as it continues to provide one of the best online poker experiences in the world to this day.

The operator’s commitment to responsible gaming, continued efforts to keep its products up-to-date with all industry standards, and commitment to innovation has made PokerStars a brand without which we could not imagine the online poker world.

This has been recognized by the independent panel of judges who gave out the 2023 EGR Awards as well, as they named PokerStars the Best Poker Operator of the year for the sixth time in just ten years.

PokerStars won the prestigious title in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020, 2021, and now 2023, while only PartyPoker and 888poker managed to get in the mix in the years between.

The operator was also named on the shortlist for the Operator of the Year award, which eventually went to LeoVegas, demonstrating the influence and reach PokerStars has in the iGaming world.

Speaking about the Awards, PokerStars PR Manager Will Shiliber said:

“To be part of such a prestigious industry event, and of course to win, was really special. Loads of teams worked long and hard on the submission, and it really showcased everything that PokerStars does and how well we do it.”

“Every department and every staff member is always striving to improve and be the best, and to win this award, one PokerStars has won so often, is a testament to that.”

Flutter Entertainment, the company behind the PokerStars brand, was also named second in the Employer of the Year category and won the Diversity and Inclusion Model title, demonstrating its dedication to maintaining a healthy work environment for its employees.

Leading the Way for Online Poker Expansion

Over the years, PokerStars has shown great dedication to growing the game of poker and leading by example from the earliest days of internet gaming.

Back in the early days of online poker, it was PokerStars along with a few other brands that brought the first live tournament satellites and helped spread unique formats like Sit and Go tournaments among the players.

As years went by, PokerStars showed its dedication to maintaining a healthy atmosphere in the online poker world during the events of Black Friday. It proved its sturdiness and longevity and ended up helping the damaged players from Full Tilt Poker recover their losses.

In the more recent years, the operator has remained at the forefront of innovation, with the launch of the novel Mystery Bounty tournament format being just one of the new ways to keep online poker fun and engaging for everyone.

From the business side of things, PokerStars has been pushing hard into the American markets. It launched a product in every US state that would allow it and the Canadian province of Ontario and remains one of the top online poker operators in North America.

As the operator continues to promote a healthy online poker ecosystem and introduce new ways to keep poker growing, its importance for the industry as a whole has never been more evident.

LeoVegas, Betsson Group, and Kaizen Gaming among the Winners

The 2023 EGR Awards saw a who’s who of the iGaming world come together in London, with major names from all big gaming companies coming out to represent their brands and receive some bling.

LeoVegas was one of the big winners of the night, as the brand won two of the most prestigious awards in Operator of the Year and Casino Operator in honor of their world-famous online casino platform.

Kaizen Gaming, the company behind the Betano brand and the official sponsor of the 2024 EURO, received The Sports Betting Operator award, along with awards for In-House Product, In-Play Sports Operator, Marketing Campaign, and Mobile Sports Product.

This made Kaizen Gaming the most awarded company at the ceremony, as it continues to spread its product across global markets and create some of the most recognizable and unique betting products out there.

Betsson Group was another big brand that received an important award for EGR Strategy of the Year ahead of the likes of Novibet and Entain.

As the year now draws to a close, gaming brands including PokerStars will be looking towards 2024 and finding new ways to improve their products and look to claim new awards at next year’s EGR Awards ceremony.

More EGR Awards Coming in 2024

The annual EGT Awards ceremony has not been announced just yet, but we can expect it to go down once again near the end of the year in one of Europe’s top locations.

For the time being, all eyes are on February’s EGR Nordics Awards, which will be held to celebrate the multitude of Nordic iGaming companies, with the likes of Leo Vegas and Betsson Group leading the way among the group.

Stay tuned for more updates from future EGR Awards ceremonies and more news on the current EGR Best Poker Operator, PokerStars.

Disclaimer: content on may contain affiliate links to online gambling operators and other sites. When you use our affiliate links, we may earn a commission based on our terms of service, but that does not influence the content on the site since we strictly follow our editorial guidelines. Learn more about how we make money and why we always stick to unbiased content. All content on this site is intended for those 21 or older or of legal gambling age in their jurisdiction.

Copyright © iBetMedia UAB. All rights reserved. Content may not be reproduced or distributed without the prior written permission of the copyright holder.