WSOP Champion Brian Rast Joins the Poker Hall of Fame

brian rast poker hall of fame

3 minutes

Last Updated: July 14, 2023

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) stopped play in all active tournaments earlier today for a very special announcement in which Brian Rast was named the newest member of the Poker Hall of Fame.

Rast was selected among nine other strong candidates, following his third victory in the $50k Poker Players’ Championship, one of the most prestigious poker tournaments in the world, which earned him his sixth WSOP bracelet.

Known for his incredible prowess in all forms of poker, Brian Rast has stood the test of time and proven his resilience and talent by winning in the very toughest poker games in the world.

Now, Rast joins the elite Poker Hall of Fame, following the vote of all 31 living members of this prestigious club, which includes many of the biggest names in the world of poker.

In a short ceremony, Rast thanked the HOF members for selecting him, and his poker friends such as Antonio Esfandiari and Andrew Robl for helping him along the journey.

This makes Brian Rast the 62nd member of the Poker Hall of Fame, the most elite poker club whose membership includes the likes of Doyle Brunson, Stu Ungar, Phil Ivey, and Johnny Chan.

Who Is Brian Rast?

Despite his incredible poker resume, many poker fans may not be entirely familiar with Brian Rast, as he is a man who likes to keep away from the spotlight.

And yet, Rast has won more than $25,000,000 playing tournament poker, despite the format not even being his specialty.

In 2015, Brian won the inaugural $500k Super High Roller Bowl for more than $7.5 million, his biggest win to date, adding even more silverware to his impressive resume.

The six-time WSOP bracelet winner spends most of his time playing cash games, where he has been dominating some of the highest stakes and toughest lineups in the world.

Known as one of the regulars in the Bobby’s Room (Legends Room), Rast is one of the most feared opponents a poker player can face, regardless of the game in question.

An expert in Texas Hold’em, Stud, Omaha, and other forms of poker, Rast became eligible for the Poker Hall of Fame last year, and was now inducted without much suspense, as he was the clear favorite for the spot despite the tough competition.

Rast Comes Out on Top in Elite Competition

The shortlist for the new member of the Poker Hall of Fame was created by a fan vote, which WSOP kept open until June 18.

Rast was one of the nine candidates that eventually made that shortlist, which included:

  1. Brian Rast
  2. Josh Arieh
  3. Mike Matusow
  4. Michael Mizrachi
  5. Bertrand “Elky” Grospellier
  6. Kathy Liebert
  7. Lon McEchren & Norman Chad
  8. Matt Savage
  9. Isai Scheinberg

Players like Michael Mizrachi, Mike Matusow, and Josh Arieh all had a good case for making it into the HOF, but it was Rast’s success in this year’s WSOP Poker Players’ Championship that really sealed the deal for the mix-game specialist.

Alongside them, the likes of Isai Scheiberg, Matt Savage, and Lon McEchren & Norman Chad all had solid bids for their impact on the poker industry, but when it came down to the vote, the players chose one of their own.

The likes of Daniel Negreanu, Phil Ivey, Huck Seed, Erik Seidel, and Eli Elezra, all of whom had a vote in the final HOF decision, predominantly voted for Rast in order to honor his incredible commitment to the game and the outstanding results he has posted over the years.

With the Poker Hall of Fame now accepting only one new member each year, the rest of the nominees will have to wait for their turn in the years to come, although it is difficult to argue against any of the candidates who were shortlisted this year.

Disclaimer: content on may contain affiliate links to online gambling operators and other sites. When you use our affiliate links, we may earn a commission based on our terms of service, but that does not influence the content on the site since we strictly follow our editorial guidelines. Learn more about how we make money and why we always stick to unbiased content. All content on this site is intended for those 21 or older or of legal gambling age in their jurisdiction.

Copyright © iBetMedia UAB. All rights reserved. Content may not be reproduced or distributed without the prior written permission of the copyright holder.